Friday, March 11, 2011

A Polar Opposite Weekend (Part 2)

It wasn't really morning. Its was 1:30 and Clif had texted Elyse saying that he and Brennen were making a store run at around 2. We hustled our bustle to get back to Manzi-Mo to join them. We stopped at Trader Joe's and Elyse got this magic elixir called jojoba oil. It is literally the best moisturizer ever. We ate lunch at subway and one of the best things happened.... I used to bitch all the time about how subway was very wasteful because they gave everyone an individual plastic bag despite whether they were dining in or not. This Subway had trays instead!!!!! I was ecstatic because all my wildest dreams had come true.

Our goal for the rest of the day was to have Elyse practice and me make a significant dent in my homework. It started out well... we went to a practice room and I did a chemistry assignment on Sapling while Elyse did her thing. After about 1 hour we got bored and went to go get coffee. We have such good stamina.

We came back to Manzi-Mo to drink our beverages in the lobby before we embarked on more productivity. Some kids were watching "LA Confidential" in the TV room sooooo we ended up getting distracted for a couple of hours. Then Clif wanted us to join him for dinner so we gorged ourselves at Pizza Plus. By this time it was about 8:30 and we finally headed in to do more work. Well.... I got another Sapling assignment done and Elyse and Clif practiced. We made it 30 minutes before giving up. The rest of the evening was consumed by more movies, The Omen and The Secret Window. By the way, The Omen has Lupin, Dumbledore, and Karkaroff in it.

I made it home at 1 am-ish feeling guilty that I still had a midterm, rought draft, a test to study for, and online assignments to consume my sunday with....(To be continued)

Thursday, March 10, 2011

A Polar Opposite Weekend (Part 1)

Okay so I want to take this blog to describe how crazy awesome/terrible a short span of 4 days could be.

The first half of Friday was pretty average. Classes consisting of LGBT discussion, English, and Biology. Now, originally the plan for Friday after classes was to go to a pool opening party at the rec center with Clif and Elyse. But as I was walking across the mall in between two of my classes I was informed by a group of students giving out free backpacks that had 'hp' advertising all over that Rick Fox and Kurt Warner were going to be at the bookstore at 4. Well it was windy anyways so I texted Clif and said (this is not a direct quote, but you should be able to derive the proper essence)"Fuck the pool, lets meet Kurt Warner". And that's just what we did. Elyse came, but she wasn't up for waiting in a line to meet an athlete for a sport she doesn't pay attention to. But Clif and I did this:




After that we roamed the bookstore for a while with Elyse while she was shopping. Then Clif and I decided to go to this thing called "Campus Legends" which is the reason why Warner and Fox were there in the first place. They take legendary athletes who went to U of A and have them play 3-on-3 basketball with current team members. The basketball game was boring but something happened that was amazing... I WON A CAMCORDER. They gave out raffle tickets at the door and they called my numbers, I had never won anything before and I certainly wasn't expecting it. The announcer was calling out the numbers and I was texting and only slightly paying attention but when I noticed he had called the numbers I said, "What the fuck?! I just won!" It was a HD 1080p camera which is just baller.

After the game Clif and I rounded up Elyse and we took her to the mall because she has no car here in the Diiiiirty T and "needed" to buy something at Forever 21 :P . We got back ate Panda NBD.

Elyse was a little stressed and I was already supposed to go to a party with my sister, so I brought Elyse along. It was the best night ever. Now there is a friendship circle that needs to be explained about who's apartment said party was at. My sorority sister is roommates with my biological sister's boyfriend's best friends. Awesome if you understood that right?! So we go and drink and meet people. What I like about this group is everyone is friendly, like now one of my sorority sisters is friends with Elyse on facebook so I can have 'friend group interlap'.

There were a few high school kids from Gilbert there that resonate in my memory. One was named Hailey, who was "Chocolate Wasted", don't ask what that means because I don't know. The other one is Jay, who was very drunk. He tried to kiss Elyse several times, but she just crawled away yelling "I have a boyfriend!!!!", he would go after her, but in slow motion because he was so faded. It was a slow motion chase scene.

After I was sober, we came to my house and Elyse slept over. We woke up the next morning and.......(to be continued)

Sunday, December 19, 2010

Puppy Boot Camp. Christmas break 2010-2011


My dogs are fat. Like if I were to use this scale on the body quality of a cow, my dogs would score a 9. That means it's the fattest you can be before you'd die of being fat.

I mean I fully understand that Chloe has a torn ligament in her knee and can't do intense things like hiking, but she can handle a walk around the neighborhood. My mom just apparently doesn't want to and my dad is never home, and when he is he's busy doing other important things.



I have vowed that this break I'm going to walk Chloe and Jade every single day. I might even walk them twice on the days I feel like waking up before noon. I wish I could take them to tucson with me, then they would get in shape. I did walk them today, and they did great. I also only gave them 3/4 of a cup of food at each meal instead of a full cup. Muahahaha, by the time break is over they'll be in better shape and hopefully they'll stay that way.

Thursday, December 9, 2010

Power Surge

So, I'd like to discuss the events of Sunday afternoon and how they've made me realize how pathetic our society has become. Mind you, I already had realized this, this is what I would call the icing on the cake.

Sunday at around 4:30PM the power went out everywhere west of Silverbell. It was a little annoying because it was starting to get dark but overall survivable. What resulted from this though, was something beautiful that I haven't seen since my days when I lived in Michigan. People came outside and started engaging physically with each other. People had a circle bumping a volleyball in the air, kids were riding their bikes around the neighborhood, and some moms were going on a walk together. It was so amazing and social.

The reason I say it made me see our society as pathetic is why does electricity have to go out for something like that to happen? The people playing in the street looked so happy with what they were doing. Has our lifestyle really become so sedentary that we can't engage in our lives without the inspiration of a power outage? We were designed to be social and physical and now it seems like no one remembers how to be human.

I remember when I was a little tyke I would wake up and want to go outside as soon as possible. I would pretty much sprint over to my friend Emily's house so we could play. We'd play in my backyard on my slide/swingset thing, or draw with sidewalk chalk. Regardless of what we were doing I don't remember a single time when we would sit and watch TV or play video games, even though we had them. When it was rainy we would just play dress up inside and build forts out of my building blocks and blankets. That was the best time of my life, and I don't understand why we've drifted from that so fast. All the parents in my neighborhood were friends and they would sit on their porches and talk, drink, and interact with one another on a daily basis. Now it's like neighbors won't interact with you unless they have to.

The only time I played nintendo or watched TV as a kid was when it got too dark to play outside for the day. It's just ridiculous that I never see kids playing outside the way we used to. Parents justify it by saying it's too dangerous with all the sexual predators and kidnappings these days. No. Just learn how to take the time to be a good parent and engage with your kids about the concepts of stranger danger like I and all of my friends were taught. If your spawn is too retarded and gets raped anyways, tough luck. The odds of that are slim and people are missing out on living because they're afraid of a negligible threat. And they are using that to justify their lazyness.

Saturday, December 4, 2010

Kena sucks

I hate Kena soooo much!

Friday, December 3, 2010

countdown..10....9....8.....7......................1 CHRISTMAS BREAK

I am probably the most excited person ever for the holidays! I've pretty much been bouncing in my chair all week thinking about how I just have a few tests and papers until I'm FREE. I really love winters in Prescott. They are perfect; just cold enough to put you in the holiday spirit, but not cold enough to freeze your tits off. I have my own little christmas tree here and Megan gave me some old yard decorations she used to have.





And of course after thanksgiving I went home for a couple of days and my mom had the tree up and all her christmassy candles, wreathes on the doors, christmas lights, my stocking was hung up on the mantle, all the good stuff. It just made me want to slip on my footie pajamas and read The Polar Express with Megan by the fireplace. I am SO ready for hot chocolate, I am SO ready for my mom's special spaghetti sauce, I am SO ready for the Andrea Bochelli Christmas album, and I am SO ready for the mountains again!
Of course there will be some nights when the ol' group will drive around in Haley's car for hours at night.
I'm also getting my wisdom teeth pulled

I'm just so excited! These next two weeks will hopefully go fast!