So, I'd like to discuss the events of Sunday afternoon and how they've made me realize how pathetic our society has become. Mind you, I already had realized this, this is what I would call the icing on the cake.
Sunday at around 4:30PM the power went out everywhere west of Silverbell. It was a little annoying because it was starting to get dark but overall survivable. What resulted from this though, was something beautiful that I haven't seen since my days when I lived in Michigan. People came outside and started engaging physically with each other. People had a circle bumping a volleyball in the air, kids were riding their bikes around the neighborhood, and some moms were going on a walk together. It was so amazing and social.
The reason I say it made me see our society as pathetic is why does electricity have to go out for something like that to happen? The people playing in the street looked so happy with what they were doing. Has our lifestyle really become so sedentary that we can't engage in our lives without the inspiration of a power outage? We were designed to be social and physical and now it seems like no one remembers how to be human.
I remember when I was a little tyke I would wake up and want to go outside as soon as possible. I would pretty much sprint over to my friend Emily's house so we could play. We'd play in my backyard on my slide/swingset thing, or draw with sidewalk chalk. Regardless of what we were doing I don't remember a single time when we would sit and watch TV or play video games, even though we had them. When it was rainy we would just play dress up inside and build forts out of my building blocks and blankets. That was the best time of my life, and I don't understand why we've drifted from that so fast. All the parents in my neighborhood were friends and they would sit on their porches and talk, drink, and interact with one another on a daily basis. Now it's like neighbors won't interact with you unless they have to.
The only time I played nintendo or watched TV as a kid was when it got too dark to play outside for the day. It's just ridiculous that I never see kids playing outside the way we used to. Parents justify it by saying it's too dangerous with all the sexual predators and kidnappings these days. No. Just learn how to take the time to be a good parent and engage with your kids about the concepts of stranger danger like I and all of my friends were taught. If your spawn is too retarded and gets raped anyways, tough luck. The odds of that are slim and people are missing out on living because they're afraid of a negligible threat. And they are using that to justify their lazyness.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment